Skip to content Skip to footer

What’s On

Talks & Tours

Daily Highlights Tour

Wednesday, January 2 – Tuesday, December 31
This one-hour tour is perfect for first-time visitors. Explore highlights of the collection and learn the history of the Barnes.
Talks & Tours

Daily Premier Tour

Wednesday, January 2 – Tuesday, December 31
This 90-minute docent-led tour takes place while the Barnes is closed to the public.
Talks & Tours

Personalized Docent Tour

Wednesday, January 2 – Tuesday, December 31
A private one-hour tour for you and up to five guests during regular hours.
Talks & Tours

Afternoons with
the Art Team

Thursday, January 31 – Monday, February 25
Join us for casual pop-up talks in the galleries led by our Art Team. Each talk focuses on a specific work of art—it’s a great way to explore the collection and learn something new!
Talks & Tours / Members

Spotlight Tour: Matisse

Friday, February 1 – Thursday, February 28
This February, take a closer look at Henri Matisse's work, his relationship with Dr. Barnes, and why the he is considered one of the cornerstones of modernist art.
Talks & Tours

Special Exhibition Tour: From Today, Painting Is Dead

Wednesday, February 27 – Sunday, May 12
Learn about the innovative photographic processes being developed in the mid-19th century and the creative artists making their mark with the new medium.
Talks & Tours / Members

Spotlight Tour: Barnes in Bloom

Friday, March 1 – Sunday, March 31
This March, get inspired by nature and feel the power of flowers as we look at the most beautiful floral still lifes and lush landscapes in the collection.
Free / Talks & Tours

Let's Connect:
Pop-Up Book Artist Colette Fu

Sunday, March 3, 3 – 4:15pm
Colette Fu and panel of Philadelphia artists share their experiences with artist residencies.
Talks & Tours

In Focus Gallery Talk: Chinese Portrait of a Woman

Monday, March 4, 2 – 2:30pm
Hear the story behind the painting from Z. Serena Qiu, a doctoral candidate in the history of art at the University of Pennsylvania. Free with admission; Room 4
Family / Talks & Tours

Stroller Tour

Thursday, March 14, 10:30 – 11:15am
Our new Stroller Tours make visiting our galleries less stressful for families with babies.
Talks & Tours / Members

Lecture:
Susan Sidlauskas on the Barnes’s Portraits of Madame Cézanne

Saturday, March 16, 11:30am – 12:30pm
Susan Sidlauskas, professor at Rutgers University, explores how Cézanne’s portraits of his wife offer insight into their complex relationship and undervalued collaboration.
Talks & Tours

In Focus Gallery Talk: Navajo Necklace and Earrings

Monday, March 18, 2 – 2:30pm
Hear the story behind these objects from Ramey Mize, a doctoral candidate in the history of art at the University of Pennsylvania. Free with admission; Lower Level Lobby
Free / Talks & Tours

Graduate Student Symposium on the History of Art—
Keynote Lecture

Thursday, March 28, 6:30 – 8pm
Gauvin Alexander Bailey, professor at Queen's University, Ontario, speaks about the history and architecture of the Palace of Sans-Souci in Milot, Haiti.
Free / Talks & Tours

Graduate Student Symposium on the History of Art

Friday, March 29, 10am – 4:30pm
Discover current research in art history through presentations and moderated discussions.